ABERDEEN BUILT SHIPS


Name
ST. OLA
Construction
STEEL
Type
FERRY, PASSENGER RO/RO
Date
1974
Official Number
359089
Description
Yard Number: 963

Launched Thursday 24th January 1974 by Mrs Herbert W Scott, wife of North Co. general manager.
This was the North Company's first drive-through vehicle carrier. Built at a cost of £1.4 million
Part of P&O Short Sea Shipping, now P&O Scottish Ferries.

'With a length of 230 feet, the ferry will have capacity for 400 passengers, 80 motor cars and up to 80 head of cattle...passengers on the two-hour run wil have the facilities of two lounges, a self-service cafeteria and a bar.'
'The Master of the new St Ola will be Captain J G Stevenson, at present in command of St. Ola II. One unique aspect is that the Master, Mate, Chief Engineer and Second Engineer of the new ship served together in the present St. Ola from the time that she first entered service - twenty years ago!'
(taken from the launch booklet, 1974)

29 January 1976: St OLAs first crossing of the Pentland Firth. Replaced 1992 by another ro-ro ferry of the same name.

1993: Renamed CECILIA for Skagerbrak & Kattegat, also southern Baltic Sea. Registered in the Bahamas, official number changed to 7340954. Ownership still listed as P&O Scottish Ferries.

1994-1995: Renamed ODIGITRIA, registered in Panama, owned by International Energy S.A. (Ventures Sea Line).

2000-2001: Registered in China, owners Government of the People's Republic of China.



Shipbuilder
Hall Russell
Shipowner
North of Scotland & Orkney & Shetland Steam Navigation Company
Dimensions
Gross Tonnage: 1345 ton
Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional   © 2006 - 2013 Aberdeen City Council